Anonymous returns, Scientology responds

It seems Anonymous has resurfaced and hired a publicist. Two days ago I received an email alerting me to two new YouTube videos from the anti-Scientology crusader(s). I’d been wondering what had happened to it/them, since things had been so quiet lately on that front. The videos themselves are weird, even by Anonymous’s standards — urging members who’ve left the fold to return and keep protesting, and making vague references to something happening on August 8. I guess we’ll find out.

Meanwhile, my original blog entry on Anonymous from last March (“Scientology, The China Syndrome, and my Wiki Ways”) finally got noticed by the Church of Scientology. A few weeks ago I got a letter from Jeff Quiros, president of the San Francisco branch. He wrote:

I am specifically writing about your allegation that the Church has “spent the last 30 years harassing its critics and trying to snuff out negative coverage by any means necessary”. Having worked for the Church for the last 36 years, and most of that time in public affairs, I must refute that allegation based on personal knowledge. (If you have personal knowledge to the contrary, I’d like to hear about it.)

All righty then.

